clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buccaneers announce 2021 captains

The team has voted and named their leaders for the repeat campaign in 2021

NFL: Super Bowl LV-Kansas City Chiefs vs Tampa Bay Buccaneers Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The players have spoken. After voting on who the captains will be, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers have officially announced who will wear the “C” on their chest for the 2021 NFL season.

In a bit to repeat as champions, it appears everything is staying as it was in 2020. No surprises, no changes. The captains of the ship are;

Offense: Tom Brady, Mike Evans

Defense: Lavonte David, Devin White

Special Teams: Bradley Pinion, Kevin Minter

David and Evans are the longest tenured Buccaneers and have been captains for multiple years now. Brady is captain for the second time in as many years in Tampa Bay while White is a captain for the second straight year.

Though this may seem ceremonial to some, it speaks volumes to those who are chosen by the other men in that building. These are the guys that players look to for motivation, leadership, and to remove all doubt when things aren’t going well for the team.

In a receiver room packed with talent, Evans is the one that the other guys will turn to. On a defense packed with Pro Bowl talent, All-Pro potential, and high priced production it’s the two men in the middle of it all that serve as the heart and soul to ensure this defense lives up to expectations.

As for Brady, he said that the greatest honor he’s ever had in his life was being selected by his teammates as the captain back at the University of Michigan. Not the MVP’s, the rings, the accolades in his professional career. No - it was a locker room of young men in Ann Arbor that gave him what he deems his greatest accomplishment. An honor that is still happening 1,165 miles away over two decades later.