clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buccaneers Announce Captains

The Buccaneers announced their captains for the 2019 season

NFL: Preseason-Miami Dolphins at Tampa Bay Buccaneers Douglas DeFelice-USA TODAY Sports

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers announced their team captains for the 2019 season on Wednesday. Bruce Arians had the pleasure of making the announcement when addressing the media following practice.

The captains were voted on by the team, and this season it was done properly rather than waiting until halfway through the year.

On offense, the captains are quarterback Jameis Winston, wide receiver Mike Evans, and guard Ali Marpet. On defense the two captains are linebackers Lavonte David and Carl Nassib. For special teams it’s running back Dare Ogunbowale.

Nassib, entering his second year with the team, was somewhat of a surprise. Though it may have been a little bit of a stretch to expect the honor to go to rookie Devin White, but newcomer Ndamukong Suh would have been a more expected choice given his time in the league and the success he’s seen.

The other surprise was Ogunbowale. He was certainly one of the preseason stars, but to be named captain of the special teams came somewhat out of left field.

It’s nice to see the “C” patch back on Jameis Winston after not being named one last year. It shows that the team believes in him and the coaches are behind him heading into the season.