clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Buccaneers’ Ring of Honor is cursed

The induction days are, at least...

New York Giants v Tampa Bay Buccaneers Photo by Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images


I think the Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ Ring of Honor inside Raymond James Stadium is cursed.

I personally love the Ring of Honor. It’s a great way to honor the franchise’s greatest figures. Plus, it helps Bucs fans relive the glory days a little bit while simultaneously escaping the seemingly inevitable disappointment of present day Bucs football.

But seriously.

I think the Ring of Honor is cursed.

Ronde Barber became the 13th member on Sunday, which was awesome. But then Tampa Bay went on to lose. Which got me — and I’m sure a lot of you — thinking... Doesn’t it feel like the Bucs always lose on Ring of Honor induction days?

No, the team isn’t winless on those days. But the record ain’t good. Tampa Bay has now lost five straight Ring of Honor games and seven of its last eight. The rundown:

Nov. 8, 2009 – Lee Roy Selmon (Bucs 38, Packers 28)

Dec. 5, 2010 – John McKay (Falcons 28, Bucs 24)

Dec. 4, 2011 – Jimmie Giles (Panthers 38, Bucs 19)

Oct. 14, 2012 – Paul Gruber (Bucs 38, Chiefs 10)

Nov. 11, 2013 – Warren Sapp (Bucs 22, Dolphins 19)

Sept. 14, 2014 – Derrick Brooks (Rams 19, Bucs 17)

Oct. 4, 2015 – Mike Alstott (Panthers 37, Bucs 23)

Dec. 6, 2015 – Doug Williams (Bucs 23, Falcons 19)

Nov. 3, 2016 – John Lynch (Falcons 43, Bucs 28)

Oct. 5, 2017 – Malcolm Glazer (Patriots 19, Bucs 14)

Dec. 18, 2017 – Jon Gruden (Falcons 24, Bucs 21)

Sept. 24, 2018 – Tony Dungy (Steelers 30, Bucs 27)

Sept. 22, 2019 – Ronde Barber (Giants 32, Bucs 31)

The Bucs are 4-9 overall, with their last Ring of Honor win coming against the Falcons in December of 2015 on the day Doug Williams was inducted. And look at those last four... All close, heartbreaking losses.

I don’t know what the course of action would be here. You can’t just stop inducting people into the Ring of Honor... Can you?