clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Has Mike Evans surpassed Julio Jones?

Your chance to choose which NFC South receiver is better, today only!

NFL: Atlanta Falcons at Tampa Bay Buccaneers Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

The NFC South has been one of the most contested divisions - if not the most contested division - in football for some time now. While the Tampa Bay Buccaneers have spent the last two seasons at the bottom of this division it isn’t necessarily because the team lacks top shelf talent.

One such talent is wide receiver Mike Evans. With nearly 400 receptions, over 6,000 yards and 40 touchdowns in his first five NFL seasons, Evans will undoubtedly go down as the franchise’s best receiver.

The questions right now is, is he the best receiver in the NFC South, or even in the entire league? Well, fans of Evans and the Buccaneers have an opportunity to make their opinion known on the national stage as the popular NFL Network morning show, “Good Morning Football” is holding a bracket style voting competition to prove who the best receiver in the league really is.

In the first round, Mike Evans and A.J. Green from the Cincinnati Bengals advanced out of their four-man group while the Pittsburgh Steelers’ Juju Smith-Schuster and Jarvis Landry of the Cleveland Browns were eliminated.

Today, in the next round of this competition, Evans faces off with NFC South rival Julio Jones from the Atlanta Falcons to see which receiver will advance to the final four.

For Jones, through his fifth year in the league, he had fourteen more receptions, 201 more yards and six fewer touchdown receptions than Evans has. But the question is: Who is the better receiver today?

The NFC South is represented three times with New Orleans Saints wide receiver Michael Thomas joining Evans and Jones in the Elite-8.

At least one from the division will advance to the Final-4 where they will compete with the winners from the other remaining match-ups including names like DeAndre Hopkins (Houston Texans), Adam Thielen (Minnesota Vikings), Antonio Brown (Oakland Raiders) and Odell Beckham Jr. (Cleveland Browns).