clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jameis Winston named NFC Offensive Player of the Week

The Buccaneers franchise quarterback put on a show against the Rams.

NFL: SEP 29 Buccaneers at Rams Photo by Chris Williams/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The National Football League announced today that Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Jameis Winston has been named NFC Offensive Player of the Week for Week 4. This is the second career NFC Offensive Player of the Week honor (Week 1, 2016) for Winston, who becomes the seventh Buccaneers offensive player and fifth quarterback to win the award multiple times.

In a 55-40 win over the Los Angeles Rams this past week, Winston completed 28-of-41 passes (68.3 percent) for 385 yards and four touchdowns, earning a 120.5 passer rating. The four touchdown passes were the most by any quarterback in Week 4, and marked Winston’s fifth-career game with at least four touchdown passes, surpassing Brad Johnson for the most such games in team history. Averaging 9.4 yards per attempt for the week, Winston joined Patrick Mahomes as the only players this season to maintain more than nine yards per attempt in a game, while recording at least 40 pass attempts.

The Bessemer, Alabama, native has thrown for three-or-more touchdowns in consecutive games for the first time in his career, totaling seven scores through the air in Week 3 and Week 4 combined. He also became just the second Buccaneers passer to throw for 375-plus yards in consecutive games (Ryan Fitzpatrick, 9/9/18 at New Orleans-9/24/18 vs. Pittsburgh).

Winston is currently tied for fourth in the NFL with nine passing touchdowns on the season, while ranking fifth with 1,167 yards passing and sixth with 8.4 yards per attempt.

Winston is Tampa Bay’s first NFC Offensive Player of the Week honoree this season and the second player to win one of the league’s weekly awards, after outside linebacker Shaquil Barrett earned NFC Defensive Player of the Week honors in Week 2. Winston is the first Buccaneers offensive player to win the award since Ryan Fitzpatrick won in back-to-back weeks to begin the 2018 season.

(Courtesy of the Buccaneers Communications Department.)