clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tampa Bay Officially Announces Team Captains

A couple of changes were made

Tampa Bay Buccaneers v Arizona Cardinals
Ali Marpet is easily one of the Bucs’ top leaders.
Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Finally, after weeks of waiting, we were all treated to the official naming of team captains on Friday.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers named receiver Mike Evans, guard Ali Marpet, linebackers Lavonte David and Kwon Alexander, and special-teamer Adarius Taylor as the five team captains. Teams are allowed to have six captains on game day, so it’s possible the Bucs rotate a new player each week.

Marpet and Taylor are first-timers, while the trio of Alexander, David, and Evans were all chosen last season.

Two notable omissions are long-time Buccaneer Gerald McCoy and quarterback Jameis Winston. McCoy has been an annual captain, while Winston has held the honor since 2016.

The Bucs have picked team captains on a game-by-game basis so far in 2018, but approaching NFL deadlines require them to eventually choose a permanent group.

What do you think about their choice(s)? Let us know below!


What do you think of the Bucs’ decisions for team captains?

This poll is closed

  • 21%
    Love them
    (84 votes)
  • 27%
    Like them
    (107 votes)
  • 46%
    Eh, whatever
    (181 votes)
  • 3%
    Don’t like them
    (15 votes)
  • 0%
    Hate them
    (0 votes)
387 votes total Vote Now