clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Draft Order 2017: Buccaneers pick 19th

NFL: NOV 20 Buccaneers at Chiefs Photo by Scott Winters/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers will have the 19th pick in the first round of the 2017 NFL draft. That much we know after week 17 of the regular season. The Bucs finished with a 9-7 record but landed outside the playoffs, as did the Tennessee Titans and Denver Broncos.

By virtue of the strength of their opponents, the Titans get pick 18 and the Broncos 20, with the Bucs right in the middle. In subsequent rounds, the three teams will rotate their draft order. The Bucs will pick 18th in round two, 20th in round three, 19th in round four, 18th in round five, 20th in round six and 19th in round seven.

Intriguingly, the Bucs have never picked 19th before, though they did hold that pick in 2009 before trading up for Josh Freeman.

While there’s one more game left to play in the 2016 NFL regular season, the order of the top 20 draft picks is already known. That’s because the final game is between two teams bound for the playoffs, and the order of playoff teams is decided by their playoff standing, not their regular season results.

Here’s the 2017 NFL draft order as it stands now, courtesy of SB Nation. Note that the Minnesota Vikings and Indianapolis Colts will have to flip a coin to decide who picks first — with the Vikings’ pick then going to the Eagles, because they traded that pick for Sam Bradford. As far as I can tell, the results of the final game between the Packers and Vikings won’t affect any of the strength of schedule tiebreakers.

NFL Draft Order 2017

1. Cleveland Browns (1-15)

2. San Francisco 49ers (2-14)

3. Chicago Bears (3-13)

4. Jacksonville Jaguars (3-13)

5. Los Angeles Rams (4-12, traded to Titans)

6. New York Jets (5-11)

7. San Diego Chargers (5-11)

8. Carolina Panthers (6-10)

9. Cincinnati Bengals (6-9-1)

10. Buffalo Bills (7-9)

11. New Orleans Saints (7-9)

12. Philadelphia Eagles (7-9, traded to Browns)

13. Arizona Cardinals (7-8-1)

T-14. Minnesota Vikings (8-8, traded to Eagles)

T-14. Indianapolis Colts (8-8)

16. Baltimore Ravens (8-8)

17. Washington (8-7-1)

18. Tennessee Titans (9-7)

19. Tampa Bay Buccaneers (9-7)

20. Denver Broncos (9-7)