clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buccaneers name 2015 team captains

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers have named their team captains for the 2015 season. That's a mostly ceremonial function, but it's still interesting. On offense, Vincent Jackson and Logan Mankins will be the captains, while on defense Gerald McCoy, Lavonte David and Clinton McDonald will represent the team. On special teams, Russell Shepard will be the team captain.

The only real surprise on that list is Clinton McDonald, who was added because the team voting was so close this year, Lovie Smith noted.

Some people will undoubtedly be surprised that Jameis Winston isn't on the list, but that fits with what we've heard all offseason. Winston isn't trying to be a leader of the team right now, because he's still a rookie. His role isn't to mentor the rest of the players, which means he's not getting elected to be team captain. It's as simple as that, really.

It's not clear exactly what team captains do. On some teams, they represent the players toward coaches, the front office and ownership. On others, they're just kind of there. Regardless of what they actually do, it's an acknowledgment of those players' status on the team.