clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NFL Hall of Fame: Tony Dungy, John Lynch

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers have Derrick Brooks in the Hall of Fame this year -- but not John Lynch or Tony Dungy.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Tony Dungy and John Lynch were left out of the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year, although Derrick Brooks was selected to enter the Hall of Fame this year. Dungy was in his first year of eligibility, while Lynch has been a candidate since 2010.

Beating out Lynch and Dungy were Derrick Brooks, Aeneas Williams, Walter Jones, Andre Reed and Michael Strahan, in spite of Warren Sapp's protestations against that final player. Dungy and Lynch will have to wait for future years, if they ever make it in. The senior nominees, who are selected separately from the rest, were Claude Humphrey and Ray Guy. Both made it in.

The Bucs have an impressive Hall of Fame presence now, however. Two inductees in two years is a lot -- and it would not be surprising to see Tony Dungy elected next year, John Lynch at some point and Ronde Barber in four years, when he's first eligible.