clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy and John Lynch make Hall of Fame cut

Three former Tampa Bay Buccaneers are among the semifinalists for the Hall of Fame.


The Tampa Bay Buccaneers will almost certainly get to celebrate another addition to the Pro Football Hall of Fame next year after seeing Warren Sapp enshrined this year. The Hall of Fame announced that three Buccaneers made the cut to 25 semifinalists: Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy and John Lynch will all be up for induction into the Hall of Fame.

The next step will be narrowing the list of 25 semifinalists to 15 finalists plus two senior nominees on January 8. Five of the modern-era nominees will be selected for enshrinement into the Hall of Fame on February 1, on the evening before Super Bowl XLVIII.

Derrick Brooks is almost certainly going to be among the enshrinees next year. This is his first year of eligibility and few players are as qualified as Brooks to enter the Hall. With 11 Pro Bowls, 9 All-Pro selection, two Man of the Year awards, a Defensive Player of the Year award and a selection for the 2000s All-Decade Team, Brooks should be a slam dunk selection. John Lynch and Tony Dungy may struggle to make it in this year, though.

More from Bucs Nation: