clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AP Postseason Awards Announced: Rodgers wins MVP, no Buccaneer wins anything

The Associated Press has announced the winners of its postseason awards, as they do every year. The most important award, the one of Most Valuable Player, was unsurprisingly handed out to Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers. Fellow NFC North QB Matt Stafford won Comeback Player of the Year. Two other quarterbacks also won awards, and the Bucs must be thrilled that both of them reside in the NFC South: Drew Brees won Offensive Player of the Year while Cam Newton won Offensive Rookie of the Year. Finally, Denver Broncos linebacker Von Miller won Rookie of the Year and Baltimore Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs won Defensive Player of the Year.

Surprisingly, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers won no awards. I blame that mostly on the lack of awards like "worst tackler" (Tanard Jackson), "worst quitters" (half the team), "most blowouts", "most disappointing player" (Josh Freeman), or "worst collapse in the history of the NFL".